Alumni, community answer the call for support

An even dozen new endowed scholarships have been added to the books recently at Western Carolina University, thanks to alumni and friends continuing to respond to a call from Chancellor David O. Belcher for increased private financial support for deserving students.

Belcher identified pursuing additional endowed scholarships as the university’s top philanthropic priority during his installation in March 2012, and a total of 125 new scholarship funds have been added since then.

Through endowments of at least $25,000, scholarship assistance can be awarded on an annual and ongoing basis. New endowed scholarship funds established between December 2014 and October 2015 are:

Elisabeth and Wade St. John Endowed Scholarship, provides equal support for two undergraduate students – one participating in the Pride of the Mountains Marching Band and one participating on the WCU intercollegiate baseball team; donors Elisabeth and Wade St. John.

The Herd Endowed Athletic Scholarship, for student-athletes who participate on one of WCU’s intercollegiate teams; donors represented by Tobe Childers.

Kevin R. Vasquez Endowed Scholarship, for students pursuing a degree in the College of Business with at least junior status and demonstrated financial need; donor Kevin Vasquez ’79.

Charles Stancil Stephens/Kudzu Players Endowed Scholarship, for students majoring in a degree in the School of Stage and Screen; donors represented by Penelope Stephens Graham ’71 MAEd ’72 and Clifford Faull.

Ruby Drew Teaching Scholarship, for students who have completed the first year in the master’s program in communication sciences and disorders; donors represented by Ruby Drew.

Wells Fargo Diversity and Leadership Scholars Program, for underserved students who exhibit leadership qualities and who come from diverse populations; donor represented by Rusty Edwards ’92 and Jim Wood ’83 MBA ’86.

Martha B. White Endowed Scholarship, for full-time undergraduate students in good standing majoring in nursing; donor, the estate of Martha B. White.

Samuel E. White Endowed Scholarship, for full-time undergraduate students in good standing majoring in engineering; donor, the estate of Martha B. White.

David E.W. Schlosser Endowed Scholarship, for Honors College students who demonstrate financial need; donors Rebecca H. Schlosser ’73 and Michael A. Schlosser.

EMC Courage Belief, and Strength Endowed Scholarship, for emergency medical care majors with preference given to students who are completing their initial paramedic training, in honor of David Trigg, Michael Hubble and Denise Wilfong ’94 MHS ’00; donor Carrie Astrid Powell ’06.

William Smith ’49 MAEd ’53 and Inez Smith Endowed Scholarship, for education majors from Jackson County who demonstrate financial need; donors Ron Smith and Ty Smith ’79 MAEd ’80.

Annie Lee Bryson ’40 and Ernest Bryson Endowed Scholarship, for incoming freshmen with a GPA of 3.0 or higher from Haywood, Graham, Swain, Jackson, Macon, Cherokee, Clay or Transylvania counties; donors Norma Bryson Clayton ’73, Anna Bryson Allen and Carolyn Bryson Wiggins ’77 ’94 .

For information on how to establish an endowed scholarship, visit the website