Five new members join Alumni Association board

The ballots have been cast, and “election central” at The Magazine of Western Carolina University has declared the winners of the 2011 Alumni Association board of directors election.

Elected to serve three-year terms expiring in 2013 are:

From District 1, Myra Wiggins Grant ’70 of Fletcher. District 1 consists of the N.C. counties of Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes and Yancey.

From District 2, Michael “Mickey” R. Pettus ’74 of Davidson. District 2 consists of the N.C. counties of Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, Catawba, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Union and Yadkin.

From District 3, Elaine Brooks Harwood ’75 of Chapel Hill. District 3 consists of the N.C. counties of Bladen, Chatham, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Vance, Wake, Warren and Wilson.

From District 4, Jimmy G. Ramsey ’73 of Carolina Beach. District 4 consists of the N.C. counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Greene, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Washington and Wayne.

From District 5, Yoneko Allen Washington ’04 of Boiling Springs, S.C. District 5 consists of all states except North Carolina.